Runa, February Sketches #3

1:
Woodwaxen, greenweed,
dyer’s broom — rub buttercups
on a child’s hand.

2:
Bane of dry branches,
gold glistening in the sky,
lifeblood of the hearth.

3:
Alone on the shore,
Ash embraces Elm, two trees,
the root moves inside.

4:
The talk of the old,
cunning muttering, magic
words, elder wisdom.

One thought on “Runa, February Sketches #3

  1. Of course I like these haikus 🙂 I kind of have to, what with the theme! But I especially love the 1st and 3rd, the choice of word and pacing just does that thing to my brain that haikus, when written properly, are supposed to do; turns it inside out a bit, gives me a vivid flash of the short scene and leaves me feeling a little refreshed.

Leave a Reply

